Latest News

S. Robson Walton, Chairman of Wal-Mart Stores, will address the antitrust community’s hottest issue  - the power of mega-buyers and their impact on the marketplace - at this year’s conference of the American Antitrust Institute scheduled for  Tuesday, June 22 at the National Press Club.  Antitrust theory has traditionally focused on the power of sellers, but with the emergence of companies such as Walton’s Wal-Mart, buyer power has become the focus of the antitrust community in recent years.

Under the influence of the Chicago School of neoclassical antitrust economics, for the past generation, U.S. antitrust policy has paid only slight attention to anticompetitive behavior within vertical inter-firm relationships.

Summary by Diana Moss (AAI)

Presentation by David Cook (North American Electric Reliability Council)

The American Antitrust Institute and the Journal of Public Policy & Marketing hosted a roundtable discussion on antitrust and category captains at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. A summary of the event is available here.

In 2003, the AAI conference, “Antitrust and Access,” raised transparency issues to a new height. “The godfather of dereguation,” Alfred E. Kahn, accepted the Antitrust Achievement Award from Bert Foer. The Jerry S.

The 3rd Annual AAI Electricity Restructuring Roundtable revealed increasing need to plan for long-term transition, with unique mixture of competition and regulation. Summary report and presentations are here. 

The 2002 annual conference, “Stretching the Envelope,” explored (1) what is taught in busness schools about the nature of competition, and how it can be used to enhance antitrust analysis and (2) the relationship between trade and antitrust.

Summary of Workshop Proceedings

Questions/Issues in the Workshop Agenda

The AAI on September 7 brought together forty leaders from government, the public interest community, and the private sector to converse off the record for four hours about competition policy issues involved in the restructuring of the electricity indu

The 2001 annual conference followed an election and was appropriately titled, “New Economy, New Regime.” The newly appointed Chairman of the FTC Timothy Muris presented the Antitrust Achievement Award to his predecessor Robert Pitofsky. This was Mr.