Jerry S. Cohen Award for Antitrust Schloarship

The Jerry S. Cohen Award for Antitrust Scholarship was created through a trust established in honor of the late Jerry S. Cohen, an outstanding trial lawyer and antitrust writer. It is administered by the law firm he founded, Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll. The award is given each year to the best antitrust writing during the prior year that is consistent with the following standards established by the Board of Trustees of the Jerry S. Cohen Memorial Fund.

To be considered eligible and selected for the Award, submissions should reflect a concern for principles of economic justice, the dispersal of economic power, the maintenance of effective limitations upon economic power or the federal statutes designed to protect society from various forms of anticompetitive activity. Submissions should reflect an awareness of the human and social impacts of economic institutions upon individuals, small businesses and other institutions necessary to the maintenance of a just and humane society--values and concerns Jerry S. Cohen dedicated his life and work to fostering. Submissions may address substantive, procedural or evidentiary matters that reflect these values and concerns.

The recipients have been:

  • 2002:  Joseph Brodley, Patrick Bolton, and Michael Riordan for their article "Predatory Pricing: Strategic Theory and Legal Policy," in 88 Georgetown L. J.
  • 2003: John Connor for his book Global Price Fixing: Our Customers Are the Enemy.
  • 2005: Andrew Gavil for his article, "Exclusionary Distribution Strategies By Dominant Firms: Striking A Better Balance," 72 Antitrust L.J. 3
  • 2006: Barry Nalebuff for his article, "Exclusionary Bundling," in 50 Antitrust Bulletin.
  • 2007: Lawrence Sullivan and Warren Grimes for The Law of Antitrust: An Integrated Handbook, second edition
  • 2008: Professor Robert H. Lande of the University of Baltimore School of Law and Neil Averitt, Esq. of the Federal Trade Commission for their article Using the “Consumer Choice” Approach to Antitrust Law, 74 Antitrust L.J. 175 (2007); and Professor Maurice E. Stucke of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville – College of Law for his article Behavioral Economics at the Gate:  Antitrust in the Twenty-First Century, 38 Loy. U. Chi. L.J. 513 (2007).
  • 2009: Larry Frankel for the article “The Flawed Institutional Design of U.S. Merger Review: Stacking the Deck Against Enforcement" published in the Utah Law Review
  • 2010: Einer Elhauge for his article "Tying, Bundled Discounts, and the Death of the Single Monopoly Profit Theory” (123 Harvard Law Review 397, 2009
  • 2011: Louis Kaplow for the article "Why (Ever) Define Markets?" (124 Harv. L. Rev. 437)
  • 2012: William E. Kovacic, Robert C. Marshall, Leslie M. Marx, Halbert L. White, Jr.for the article "Plus Factors and Agreement in Antitrust Law" (110 Mich. L. Rev. 393, 2011)
  • 2013: John B. Kirkwood for the article "Powerful Buyers and Merger Enforcement" (92 B.U.L. Rev. 1485, 2012)
  • 2014: C. Scott Hemphill and Tim Wu for the article “Parallel Exclusion” (122 Yale L.J. 11820) and John E. Kwoka, Jr. for the article “Does Merger Control Work? A Retrospective on U.S. Enforcement Actions and Merger Outcomes” (78 Antitrust L.J. 619)
  • 2015: Aaron Edlin and Rebecca Haw for the article “Cartels by Another Name: Should Licensed Occupations Face Antitrust Scrutiny?” (162 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1093, 2014) and Andrew Gavil and Harry First for the book The Microsoft Antitrust Cases:  Competition Policy for the Twenty-First Century.
  • 2016:  Jonathan B. Baker, “Taking the Error Out of ‘Error Cost’ Analysis: What's Wrong with Antitrust's Right,” 80 Antitrust L.J. 1 (2015)
  • 2017: Einer Elhauge, “Horizontal Shareholding,” 129 Harv. L. Rev. 1267 (2016)
  • 2018: Michal S. Gal and Alan D. Miller, “Patent Challenge Clauses: A New Antitrust Offense?”, 102 Iowa L. Rev. 1477 (2017) and Phillip Johnson, Edward Leamer, and Jeffrey Leitzinger, “Statistical Significance and Statistical Error in Antitrust Analysis,” 81 Antitrust L.J. 641 (2017)